Rest appoints three new Board Investment Committee members

12 October 2020

The Board of Rest, one of Australia’s largest superannuation fund, today announced the appointment of Mr Michael Bargholz CFA, Professor Deep Kapur and Ms Anne Anderson to its Board Investment Committee.
The three new appointments further enhance the leadership and investment industry experience to the five-person Investment Committee of the $54 billion industry superannuation fund.
Mr Michael Bargholz has extensive executive leadership experience in investment management. Most recently, he was the Chief Executive Officer, Australia with specialist investment manager Pendal Group Limited from 2016 to 2018. Prior to his most recent role, Michael held various executive positions at fund management firms, including Managing Director, Australia at Fidelity International, and Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, Australia and New Zealand with the global investment management and research firm Alliance Bernstein. Mr Bargholz was appointed to the Rest Board Investment Committee effective 1 September 2020.
Professor Deep Kapur is a Professor of Practice with the Monash Business School, a member of the School Executive Committee and concurrently Director of the Monash Centre for Financial Studies. He has more than 28 years’ experience in the investment industry in senior roles encompassing portfolio management and research, including Asia based Managing Director positions with Salomon Smith Barney, Citigroup Global Markets and Daiwa Capital Markets. His investment experience spans both systematic and discretionary strategies across all major asset classes and markets. He holds a PhD in Economics from the Australian National University. Professor Kapur’s appointment to the Rest Board Investment Committee was effective 1 September 2020.
Ms Anne Anderson was appointed to Rest’s Board Investment Committee effective 9 October 2020 and brings more than 35 years’ direct experience in financial markets. Ms Anderson has most recently been Managing Director and Head of Fixed Income and Investment Solutions Australia at UBS Asset Management. She joined UBS in 1993 and has held several leadership positions including as a fixed income and multi-asset investor and running the investment businesses in Australia and the APAC region. Prior to joining UBS, she gained a further 10 years in finance and corporate treasury roles. She has served as a member of the Australian Office of Financial Management with the Commonwealth Treasury Advisory Board and is current Chair of St Joseph’s College Foundation. Anne was appointed to Rest’s Board Investment Committee effective 9 October 2020.
Ken Marshman, Chair of the Rest Board said, “The appointment of three eminent investment experts to the Board Investment Committee is part of the overall redesign of the investment governance structure, which complements the recent appointment of Mr Andrew Lill as Rest’s Chief Investment Officer.”
The appointments follow the departure of Mr John Nolan on 30 September 2020 after more than 30 years’ service advising or contributing as a member of Rest’s Investment Committee.
“I wish to thank Mr Nolan for his enormous contribution over many years as a key member of the Investment Committee,” said Mr Marshman.   

 Earlier this year, Rest’s wholly owned investment arm Super Investment Management (SIM) was integrated into the fund’s internal investments team to focus all of Rest’s investment expertise in a single group.

For further information, please contact:  

Michael Mills
Corporate Communications Manager
m: 0428 499 722